In Music We Trust >> Frontpage
July 18, 2024

Search In Music We Trust
Article Archives
>> Article ArchivesFeatured ArticlesInterviews & Show Reviews#ABCDEFGHIJKL MNOPQRSTUVWXYZVarious ArtistsDVD Reviews
The Kola Koca Death Squad
The Kola Koca Death Squad (Wife Records)

By: Alex Steininger

A duo from Ohio, The Kola Koca Death Squad (Mike Brewer on vocals and guitar, Colin Frazier on drums and percussion), take blues-rock and deeply embed the blues, only letting it show on occasion. Instead, preferring to let the rock live and breath, playing dissident, noisy, but controlled rock that creates a wall of noise while the percussion and drums set a nice bed of rhythms for Brewer to sing over. And when the noise isn't up front, there is a groove reeling you in, leading you down a path that will eventually crumble you with plenty of rock. I'll give it a B.

Copyright © 1997-2024, In Music We Trust, Inc. All Rights Reserved.