In Music We Trust >> Frontpage
June 25, 2024

Search In Music We Trust
Article Archives
>> Article ArchivesFeatured ArticlesInterviews & Show Reviews#ABCDEFGHIJKL MNOPQRSTUVWXYZVarious ArtistsDVD Reviews
Into The Now (Sanctuary Record Group)

By: Mike SOS

Tesla never really got a fair shake. Even though the California quintet's success is unquestionable, complete with massive MTV exposure and lucrative touring experiences, they've never really been able to shake the dreaded hair metal moniker, as they were always lumped into the same division as such lightweight poseur groups as Pretty Boy Floyd and Warrant, even though the band never caved in to glam metal's faux pauxs and were always grittier and ten times more real. Well, hopefully time heals all wounds, as the boys have returned with a brand new 12-track disc that shows Tesla hasn't lost one step and still does what they do best; kick out some hard rock from the heart. Featuring the original lineup (how many comebacks can boast that?), tracks like "What a Shame" and "Mighty Mouse" contain the classic Tesla melodic hard rock groove, while the guitar work in such tracks as "Recognize" still prove that Frank Hannon and Tommy Skeoch are true innovators of hard rock guitar. Vocalist Jeff Keith's distinct wail still packs the soulful spirit it always had, especially on the tender "Caught In A Dream", while the rhythmic backbone of Brian Wheat and Troy Lucketta lay it down thick on "Got No Glory", yet hold back enough on the acoustic "Come to Me" to let the song flow as freely as spending a spring day in the park. Into the Now is a triumphant comeback for one of the most underrated outfits to ever go platinum, and if you like honest, straightforward hard rock music, Tesla will undoubtedly deliver for you.
Copyright © 1997-2024, In Music We Trust, Inc. All Rights Reserved.