In Music We Trust >> Frontpage
February 25, 2024

Search In Music We Trust
Article Archives
>> Article ArchivesFeatured ArticlesInterviews & Show Reviews#ABCDEFGHIJKL MNOPQRSTUVWXYZVarious ArtistsDVD Reviews
Matt Elliott
The Mess We Made (Merge Records)

By: Alex Steininger

Matt Elliott's The Mess We Made is a slow moving, shadowy record, creeping and crawling, the strange figure lurking behind you as you race home, unsure of what the blanket of night brings if you turn around and confront your fears. Though, more than a record you put on while you fall asleep at night, sit and drink coffee too, or have playing in the background while you and your close friends discuss the meaning of life, its late night romanticism, coupled with eerily enticing notes, makes you take notice. Naked and layer-less, primarily relying on acoustic guitars, piano, and electric guitars, with some other light instrumentation to fill things out, Elliott has been able to create a moody, moving piece of art that will send chills up your spine all while keep you coming back for more. I'll give it a B+.
Copyright © 1997-2024, In Music We Trust, Inc. All Rights Reserved.