In Music We Trust >> Frontpage
June 25, 2024

Search In Music We Trust
Article Archives
>> Article ArchivesFeatured ArticlesInterviews & Show Reviews#ABCDEFGHIJKL MNOPQRSTUVWXYZVarious ArtistsDVD Reviews
Frenzal Rhomb
Sans Souci (Fat Wreck Chords)

By: Alex Steininger

The snotty Australian punks Frenzal Rhomb are back yet again with Sans Souci, their sixth full-length over all. And what a good time it is. Always one of the finest bands on the Fat Wreck Chords roster, Frenzal Rhomb delivers in-your-face, spitting-on-your-enemies punk rock that doesn't mind ruffling a few (or dozens) of feathers.

"Russell Crowe's Band" is a minute-long fuck you to Thirty Odd Foot of Grunts, Russell Crowe's musical outlet. Sporting the following lines, Frenzal Rhomb poke fun at the fact that life isn't fair, while keeping a smile about it all:

Don't get a million bucks for getting out of bed. Don't get a million bucks when punch blokes in the head. But even if we never get a Billboard top ten hit, at least we know Russell Crowe's band's a fucking pile of shit. Don't get Olympic athletes to my BBQ, don't get extortion threats from the Coffs Harbour Saloon. But even if our pay checks might as well be counterfeit, at least we know Russell Crowe's band's a fucking pile of shit.

Also including "White World", their hilarious take on Cat Steven's "Wild World," Frenzal Rhomb ensures that Sans Souci is a non-stop laugh fest filled with plenty of punchy, ass-kicking punk rock to boot. I'll give it a B+.

Copyright © 1997-2024, In Music We Trust, Inc. All Rights Reserved.