In Music We Trust >> Frontpage
June 17, 2024

Search In Music We Trust
Article Archives
>> Article ArchivesFeatured ArticlesInterviews & Show Reviews#ABCDEFGHIJKL MNOPQRSTUVWXYZVarious ArtistsDVD Reviews
Nothing Else (Pollen Records)

By: Alex Steininger

Front man Brett Kimberlin has an interesting story. Exercising his First Amendment rights to speech and political activity, Kimberlin, without a trial, was hauled off to federal prison after being targeted by right-wingers who wanted to punish him for being a musician, writing a book and speaking out about politics.

Spending every waking minute in prison (and there were plenty of them) writing songs, he started a prison band, a band that became hugely popular with the incarcerated. And then the right-wingers struck again. The electric musical instruments were taken away. So Kimberlin and the ACLU sued and won, allowing the electric instruments back in the prison.

The result of this horrific ordeal is Nothing Else, Kimberlin's band Epoxy's debut. Along with friends/fellow musicians Wade Matthews (bass) and Robbie White (drums), Kimberlin delivers a chilling, ferocious punk-rock assault of venom-vocals and raging rhythms. This is fast-paced, heavy, hard-hitting rock 'n' roll that screams and crushes.

The songs are all ripe with emotion, Kimberlin's time spent in prison building up in him - like it would for anyone - and when he unleashes, he unleashes. Powerful and moving, you can't listen to this album and not get worked up. I'll give it a B+.

Copyright © 1997-2024, In Music We Trust, Inc. All Rights Reserved.